Vermont adventures: Why city people need to step outside

How do you know you have officially become a city girl? When you embark on a “moderate-level” hike and have to turn back before you have reached the half way point. Yes, I’m ashamed to say that really happened.

So I may not be the MOST equipped person for a weekend in the great outdoors, but we still had a blast visiting Heather’s best friend Lauren in Burlington, Vermont. The cozy college town reminded me a lot of Ithaca, NY where I spent my first two years of college. Everyone is laid back, friendly and unpretentious—and there is so much green everywhere!

Despite my failed attempt at our first hike, on Day 2 we walked around one of the state parks and found a spectacular view of the lake. There are roughly 80 islands on the lake, with the largest being South Hero and North Hero islands. I would love to come back in the summertime when Lake Champlain would be even more spectacular.

What trip to Vermont would be complete without a visit to the Ben & Jerry’s Factory? Ok, it may be overrated, but we did get to sample a delicious flavor that is being considered for production. The bad news? It was freaking delicious and won’t be available in stores for at least another 2 years. Darnnit.

By the end of the weekend, I found myself breathing easier and truly relaxing. When I stepped outside in the morning, for the first time in a long time I heard nothing. No honking horns, no screeching tires, no F-bombs from the friendly neighborhood bum. It’s not easy for city folk to take a breather once in a while, but it’s so very necessary.

This entry was posted in Adventures, Reflecting. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

