Romance Under the Bridge

Romance and ghosts don’t usually go hand-in-hand, but you can find them both at The Bridge Cafe in lower Manhattan.

This intimate restaurant dates back to 1794 when it opened as a grocery store. Since then it has been a brothel, saloon, tavern and now– a perfect date spot for a mellow Friday night. With only ten or so tables, it’s very intimate with dim, romantic lighting and an old-school feel. It is also home to alleged ghosts, namely prostitutes and pirates.

Being the ghost-fanatic that I am, I “got lost” on my way to the bathroom and ended up two floors above the restaurant. I poked around the storage rooms for a bit but saw nothing out of the ordinary. Next time I will have to remember my Ouiji board…

Moving on to the food, it was fantastic. The restaurant is known for its soft-shell crabs, which were lightly fried and perfectly seasoned. The panko-crusted chicken entree was massive and completely satisfying. And, our waitress was a sweetheart. Needless to say, I’ll be back!

The Bridge Cafe is a neighborhood gem that put me in a purely New York state of mind. I would highly recommend it. 🙂

This entry was posted in Adventures, Food. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

