My Favorite NYC Spots

In the spirit of Springtime, when New Yorkers return to the city streets after months of hibernation, I am posting a few of my favorite dining/drinking spots in NYC. I feel completely renewed when the warm weather returns and I can emerge from my apartment without my winter gear. These are all spots I will definitely be returning to throughout the spring and summer. I can’t believe this will already be my second summer in New York!

Best Mexican Food: Dos Caminos (Midtown) – 825 3rd Avenue, New York

Consistently excellent food & service, and a great place to people watch, too. Sit outside! The bar can get pretty rowdy and fun, as I’ve learned from a late weeknight or two.

Best Rooftop Bar: Rare (Midtown East) – 303 Lexington Ave at 37th Street

I’ve never eaten here, but the rooftop bar is beautiful, and surprisingly not overly packed on weeknights. Drinks are pricey, but the view is well worth it.

Best Drinking Deal: Down the Hatch (Sundays) – 177 W 4th St

You really can’t beat $2 domestic/ $3 import pints on Sunday nights starting at 7pm. The wings aren’t bad, either!

Most Romantic Upscale Restaurant: One if By Land, Two if By Sea – 17 Barrow Street

A New York classic. Once a carriage house, this beautifully-decorated restaurant is THE spot for a romantic meal– if you’re willing to fork over some major dough.

Best Date Spot: The Bourgeois Pig – 111 East 7th Street

A lovely little spot for drinks and appetizers. Try the champagne cocktails and fondue. The decor reminds me of  ‘Moulin Rouge’ with dim lights, lush furniture, and deep colors.

That’s all for now! More to follow as the weather warms up and I begin to explore the endless restaurants and bars of New York.

One of By Land, Two if By Sea. My favorite New York moment.

This entry was posted in Adventures, Drink, Food. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

